Club Cobra

Club Cobra (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/)
-   429/460 Engine Talk (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/429-460-engine-talk/)
-   -   429 crak shaft damper single groove (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/429-460-engine-talk/133759-429-crak-shaft-damper-single-groove.html)

justushdw 06-20-2015 01:15 PM

429 crak shaft damper single groove

I hope I got this right. I'm a rookie at this.

I was running my car and heard a clang on the road way and temp guage started to go up when I stopped I saw that the fan belt was gone and the pulley on the crankshaft was missing. I pulled the damper of and the markings on it are C3AEorZ 6316a. Is this a good part number or what can I get as a replacement. All help is appreciated

Thanks Joe

cycleguy55 06-20-2015 02:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by justushdw (Post 1353107)
I hope I got this right. I'm a rookie at this.

I was running my car and heard a clang on the road way and temp guage started to go up when I stopped I saw that the fan belt was gone and the pulley on the crankshaft was missing. I pulled the damper of and the markings on it are C3AEorZ 6316a. Is this a good part number or what can I get as a replacement. All help is appreciated

Thanks Joe

C3 doesn't make sense for a 429, as 'C3' in Ford's numbering indicates 1963, and the 385 series didn't make an appearance until 1968. Could that be C8AE or C8AZ?

BTW, search results for C8AE-6316 turn up references to 428 CID engines in Mustangs - not 429 (which didn't show up in Mustangs until 1969). Certainly the 6316 references Mustang (63 = 2-Door Hardtop Mustang Fastback) (How to Decipher FoMoCo Part Numbers - Overview - FORDification.com).

All of which begs the question: Is this a 385 or an FE engine?

Jac Mac 06-20-2015 06:13 PM