Club Cobra

Club Cobra (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/)
-   Australian Cobra Club (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/australian-cobra-club/)
-   -   351W & T5 prices (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/australian-cobra-club/13072-351w-t5-prices.html)

Adrian S 12-14-2001 08:25 PM

351W & T5 prices

Hello,

I've been offered a crate 351W (1998 build) with EFi for AUD$6500 and was wondering whether this sounds like a good price? Also, as I'm a bit of a novice, are there any questions I should be asking the guy to find out what it is I'm buying ?

He also sells new T5's (including bell housing & clutch) for $3000 - is this too high ? Not far off the price of a Tremec 3550 I think.

One final question, who knows how much HP the crate 351W would deliver? I think it may be a smidge under 300 but not sure.

Thanks,
Adrian.

750hp 12-15-2001 04:21 AM

An injected 1998 windsor motor in standard form could not really be described as a performance motor. I can't imagine it having anywhere near 300hp which would probably be a good thing, because I don't like the T5's ability to cope with any significant torque/hp rating. My opinion is that those parts are too expensive.

Just remember, because it's a "crate" motor doesn't make it an SVO crate motor.

Have a talk to some engine builders in your area, and you might find that for similar money, you can build something a little more suitable. Alternatively, if you're not into the originality side of things, Lexus make a beautiful all alloy, quad cam 32 valve 4 litre V8 for less than $3,000. The latest Chev LS1 is also a little powerhouse for around the $6K mark.

Good luck!

L.M.Lind 12-15-2001 04:43 AM

So you can compare USA prices, Summit catalogue sells new T-5's for $1109.95 and clutches from $ 159.95 up. I am getting a rebuilt 351W(350hp) clutch T-5, basically complete engine/drive test run with cobra valve covers and air cleaner for $4800US +shipping.

Adrian S 12-17-2001 04:48 AM

Thanks for the info guys.