Club Cobra

Club Cobra (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/)
-   Australian Cobra Club (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/australian-cobra-club/)
-   -   Best Cobra Kit Car to Purchase (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/australian-cobra-club/137841-best-cobra-kit-car-purchase.html)

Aiden5748 01-17-2017 02:28 PM

Best Cobra Kit Car to Purchase

Hi Every One,

I am looking at building a cobra, I am Mechanic by trade and have a car hoist at home in my shed. There are a tone of kits on the Market, I had been looking at FFR kit, does anyone know if they make the kits to suit LH Drive. I have not built any thing like this before, if any one has advise for me on the best packages available, also whats a good ending and tranny to run I'm all ears.

Ideas would be great.

Thanks a boot full

Aiden

Gav 01-17-2017 03:41 PM

Hi Aiden,
The Pace cobra's are a really well designed kit but as you may have seen about the place delivery of parts with them is a bit of an issue at present.
I built a Classic Revival Cobra previously and they are a great car.
But having said that the choice is greater than just those two.
I have recently imported a RHD FFR coupe kit and had no issues and the quality is excellent.
Where are you located?
I'd speak with an engineer in regards to what make of cars they have dealt with as engineering may be your biggest obstacle.
Join a club and have a good look at what others are doing. Good luck with your search.

boxhead 01-17-2017 03:52 PM

Welcome to the nut house Aiden.
I am assuming you mean R/H drive in the FFR.
Gav I think is the most recent to order a car from FFR and I believe he ordered his in R/H drive (I am old so memory is shot).

There is also a list that Spooky has compiled with Australian suppliers (I wont try to list them all now as I will miss one or two and be labeled biased one way or another.

I am similar to yourself (but 15 years ago) mechanic with home workshop and capable skills to build a car.