Club Cobra

Club Cobra (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/)
-   ERA---Speak with Bob Putnam (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/era-speak-bob-putnam/)
-   -   Best approach to bleeding brakes - Part 2 (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/era-speak-bob-putnam/121768-best-approach-bleeding-brakes-part-2-a.html)

DanEC 08-12-2013 04:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joyridin' (Post 1257091)
That was before I bought the Speed Bleeders...but it still didn't take me 5 hours.

Hell, I've been building this thing for 3-1/2 years. What would make you think it would take me any less time?%/

patrickt 08-12-2013 05:27 PM

Man, I'm going to be really surprised if it's sucking that much air past the threads on the bleeder screw on a freshly rebuilt caliper, but what-the-hay.... If Teflon tape doesn't fix it, then I say the caliper had a POS-rebuild job done on it, or maybe you're pulling air in the master cylinder because you're pumping too hard, with too long a stroke, and pumping too quickly.

kevins2 08-12-2013 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DanEC (Post 1257130)
Kevin - any idea as too how high? I had the nose elevated probably about 7 to 8 inches in order to pull the front tires. No need to remove the rear due to the inboard calipers.

Hi Dan,

I did the same thing in my first attempt but subsequently spoke with Doug. He indicated you need to raise it as high as possible and, as I said in a previous post, he actually uses a section of 4x4 on his jack to raise it higher than the jack would alone. His point is that air can remain trapped in the master cylinders if you're gravity bleeding or even using the pedal pump method. This is my first time through this so I'm just passing along the information I received (and obviously has worked for Doug many, many times). There're a lot of good suggestions in this thread and, since I'm not happy with my pedal pressure, I'll be addressing this again myself.

Regards,

Kevin

joyridin' 08-12-2013 05:45 PM

Quote: