Club Cobra

Club Cobra (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/)
-   FE TALK (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/fe-talk/)
-   -   What's a fair offer for this rebuilt 428 short block? (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/fe-talk/133130-whats-fair-offer-rebuilt-428-short-block.html)

DrivinWest 05-03-2015 06:39 AM

What's a fair offer for this rebuilt 428 short block?

I'm giving some consideration to building an engine while I wait for my Cobra. I have zero FE building experience but I've got time and interest in learning. The following came up for sale locally and I'm wondering 1) if it's made with quality parts 2) what it's worth.

C6ME 428 block, date code 5K4, new Forged Speed Pro L2303 .040 pistons, new SpeedPro Plasma Moly rings, 1M crank @ .030 / .030. Rebuilt by reputable local machine shop.

Any insight is much appreciated.

redmt 05-03-2015 06:55 AM

I saw that on the FE forum also. It's an OK deal. The part about the previous balancing was a little confusing. It said it was previously balanced. Does that mean that the new pistons have been rebalanced? If I was local I would go look at it and make my assessment from there. At $1500 its a great deal if everything is correct. At 2k it's a pretty good deal. At $2500 it had better all be right. JMHO

Barry_R 05-03-2015 06:58 AM

Given the current cost for a real 428 block you might have a couple grand worth of parts there....

redmt 05-03-2015 07:02 AM

,,,, a 428 block at .040 is pretty much at the end of it's life cycle. I've seen them at .060 but wouldn't trust it.

DrivinWest 05-03-2015 07:19 AM

Thanks for the input. It's local and thus struck my interest, but it seems that there are probably better option out there.

redmt 05-03-2015 07:51 AM

I would not blow it off. Go look at it if for no more than the experience. You'll have something to compare for the future. Offer him a lower number if you want it. All he can say is no. If you have little FE knowledge, this is a good way to learn. again,,, JMHO