24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Old 04-30-2021, 04:00 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Altitude: reason for a Coyote?

Hi All

Newbie here...from the Denver area...nearing a purchase of a Backdraft.

I wonder if any of you Colorado folks, who perhaps live along the front range at an altitude of 5,000'+, and often drive up into the mountains, maybe up to 10,000' or more, have any trouble with your carbureted 427s? Is this a non-event, or perhaps a slight nudge toward choosing EFI and a Coyote engine?

(I realize this forum isn't very active...anybody out there?)

Thoughts appreciated

Tom
Old 04-30-2021, 05:06 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Shelby CSX4005LA, Roush 427IR
Not Ranked     

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastTom View Post
Hi All

Newbie here...from the Denver area...nearing a purchase of a Backdraft.

I wonder if any of you Colorado folks, who perhaps live along the front range at an altitude of 5,000'+, and often drive up into the mountains, maybe up to 10,000' or more, have any trouble with your carbureted 427s? Is this a non-event, or perhaps a slight nudge toward choosing EFI and a Coyote engine?

(I realize this forum isn't very active...anybody out there?)

Thoughts appreciated

Tom

If you don't go through wild altitude changes a carb'd engine can be set up to operate fine. No matter what you'll lose 15-20%.