View Single Post
Old 05-08-2012, 09:25 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Driving impressions of an ERA 427 Cobra

Hi Folks....I'm a new guy here and just wanted to give some impressions of my ERA 427 Cobra. If you agree GREAT....If you don't...GREAT....I stopped debating on internet forums a long time ago...It's a waste of my time....Enjoy!

Let me give you a little background. I'm a real estate developer and have owned a lot of interesting cars over the years...Nothing too crazy, but a nice variety. Including...Various MGB's MGA's Triumph's, Porsche 911's, a Porsche Speedster replica (Beck)..Vintage Mustangs, Jags, 240Z's, and I'm sure a bunch of other stuff I'm forgetting.

Here's what I've learned over time...

A new to you car is like a pair of new jeans...They don't feel comfortable until you get some MILES on them. I'm always sceptical of a new car owner going on and on about how great his new "whatever" is and then 6 months later it's on Ebay...I'm not knocking that in anyway...Hell, I've DONE THAT!! But over TIME you learn to temper your reviews.

So....After all that BS...Here it is.

First impressions....

This car RIDES a hell of a lot better than I ever thought it would or COULD. My son mentioned that he liked the ride better than my 85 Carrera...I agree with him. The ERA is a very well damped car...Bumps don't upset it....It just swallows them up and moves on. Also helping here are the ERA seats which are a work of art...Not because they LOOK good, but because of what's INSIDE...You can FEEL those rubber strips the seat foam is suspended across. This is NOT and easy or cheap way to build a Cobra seat...But it's the ORIGINAL/EXPENSIVE way and you can feel it when you drive the car. Very comfortable! My Beck had fiberglass shells with foam over them...Those seats absolutely SUCKED for anything over a 20 minute ride.