View Single Post
Old 09-17-2015, 07:26 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Backdraft, supercharged Coyote
Not Ranked     

I'v been messing with performance EFI for a few years now. I wouldn't say I'm an expert, but I have done my home work. The learning curve can be steep. But I'll probably never go back to a carb.

Self tuning a myth and a marketing buzz word. Doesn't happen. The computer can get itself to about 75% or so of where you need to be. But you'll need to understand how it works so you can get it where it needs to be. Especially on a performance engine. Some dyno time with a pro can dial it in to run like a stocker.

I think throttle body EFI is not worth the expense and effort. Because it's a wet manifold, you end up with some of the same charectoristics of a carb system. Port injection (like stock engines) work really, parts are inexpensive, and are dead on reliable. Stack system look great, perform really well, but do require some extra work to get them running right. Stack systems are not a simple bolt on and go.

EFI will "tame" a big cam. The problem with a big cam and a carb is that you tend to lose intake charge velocity at lower rpm's. Because the air/fuel mixture is moving at such a slow speed, the fuel falls out of suspension and puddles in the intake; same thing with a throttle body. That's why engines with big ports and carbs idle at such high speeds. Port injection makes a significant improvement in that area. A big cam with big ports will idle like a ***** cat at 800 rpm's, and drive around town without a hiccup.