View Single Post
Old 09-20-2015, 05:48 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Classic revival kit (CR3181), gen III engine, T56 6 speed box, AU XR8 lsd diff
Send a message via Yahoo to boxhead
Not Ranked     

Hi Hoity.
I have a similar preamble to yourself and most others.
I saw one in Melbourne in early 80's. pointed at it and asked my stepfather what it was.
Gloss black Cobra, chrome everywhere and big wheels, and a sound that was earth rumbling, the seed was set and I promised myself "I will have one of them one day".
Life rolls on and after a few relocation's and growing up, The chance to finally have a serious look happened.

I am a mechanic by trade and consider myself fairly hands on, with a willingness to have a crack at anything.
My "must haves" where
1- removeable body (I liked the idea of being able to work on it without having to crawl under body work while assembling)
2- Correct shape, some kits just are not quiet right in there overall shape (CR isnt spot on, but it is pretty close)
3- being able to source parts from donors, some see this as a bad thing, but a big part of the fun I had (and continue to have) is the hunt for parts I needed.
4- My build was always going to be a long slow process, as I am a tight arse, so I would save money, buy the next bit, then hunt and buy the next bit etc etc.
So a single supplier all in one hit was going to make it hard.

When I started looking, I was living in Nth Qld, i had pretty much nutted it down to Harrison or CR (CR in prime possi as Harrison body is fixed to chassis), on a drive to Melbourne, I stopped at both Harrison and CR to check out the cars with my own eyes, I had also "met" Aussie Mike through this forum, and he had recently obtained a CR and offered me a look at a car pulled apart.