View Single Post
Old 10-22-2015, 11:32 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Harrison#97 LS7 / T56
Not Ranked     

I just noticed that there aren't any washers on the brake balance bar. I almost forgot mine. They are to prevent the push rod knuckles binding at extreme angles. It's still amazing how much work goes into a car. Even on a production car it takes a lot of man hrs.
JD

Simon, Have a look at Wilwood or Tilton bias adjustment cable. I think they are a must...with a balance bar. Muz

Muz, my engineer said you can't have one of those as "the driver is not allowed to adjust the bias whilst driving etc" So in theory only the balance bar that is adjusted when vehicle is stationary etc using the spanners etc.

(I have one installed though but only connected "When on the race track")

Disclaimer: This is what I was told by VASS engineer - I am no expert on ADRs etc.

Some states require that the balance bar be made non adjustable (welded) after the certifying engineer is satisfied with the brake bias.

Hi Guys,

Just to address a couple of comments/suggestions regarding that pic of Simon's brake bias /pedals.

There's no need on these Tilton pedal boxes for any washers...Tilton don't recommend nor supply them, as the radius of the surfaces etc., don't allow any binding issue.
There was a comment suggesting that the push rods would bind when they reach "extreme angles"...I guess that means if the front brake push rod and the rear brake push rods are adjusted to push as completely different levels??

My understanding is that these two push rods "almost" push as the same time...i.e. not one pushing for an inch or so, and then the other one kicking in.

They"almost" should be pushing at the same time.
( Hope that makes some sort of sense)

And with regards to being able to set up some sort of "remote" adjustment, and also a fixed/welded bar....and whether that complies with the ADR requirements....

Craig has offered the following info.....