View Single Post
Old 09-15-2020, 09:18 AM
Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: NAF 427
Not Ranked     

Disclaimer: I am not an expert. You need to speak to the “right” Cobra experts of the period. People like Lynn Park. Fran Kress, JL Henderson and others whose names will be referred to you by these people and people on this forum.

Now, I did research the period Halibrand wheels for the Goodyear tire history I wrote for SAAC a couple of years ago and learned a lot about the original Halibrand magnesium wheels.

Before I go into that, we need to know more about the wheels you have.

You say you have “a set of old Halibrand magnesium wheels”.

You have to be more specific than that. Old as in 1965 or 1966? Which style Halibrand? You’re sure they’re Halibrand.

In any case, “old” is not good when talking magnesium wheels. Age embrittlement, stress cracks (visible and invisible), and corrosion are your enemies.

Halibrand, as good a manufacturer as they were, did not have the modern metallurgy technology in the 1960’s we have today.

Age embrittlement can take place with a wheel just sitting on a shelf for years. Add heat, UV, ozone, corrosion and stress and you have a cocktail for disaster.

OK, lots of guys are running period magnesium Halibrands in vintage racing, but as you have read in the previous posts they are carefully and meticulously maintained.

Running old, unknown magnesium wheels (one which already has a crack) on the street is probably not a good idea, earning on the side of caution and safety.

The Dow coatings, mentioned in previous posts, applied to the magnesium wheels were intended as corrosion protection (not air sealing) and had a limited life. Simply reapplying a “new” coating of the Dow coating (or other coating) without being assured of the internal condition of the casting (corrosion and stress cracks) will only mask an impending problem.

Now regarding mounting, bead sealing and inner tubes.