View Single Post
Old 10-26-2002, 12:44 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Unique 289 FIA gone now
Not Ranked     

Boy, give myself a break from the remodel project and I can't help but get involved (or in trouble).

Ron,

I'm sure Lubrecon will deal with your personal comments, but I'd like to deal with the overall concepts, and some of your general statements in particular, from my experience. Please note, this is not a flame job on you. Only my additions and what, to some, might seem like nit picking. Unfortunately, wives tales sprout from nits.

To frame my responses, I'm not a big proponent of synthetics. This is not because I am biased against them, but precisely because of what you said. Too many people look at them as "miracle in a can". Synthetics in the correct application have definite advantages. But just because they solve certain "high stress" applications, doesn't mean they are a cure all for less stressfull situations. Sort of a variation on the "more is better" theory.

Now for a nit. Your statement about carbon burning as a result of the combustion process is generally accurate. I take issue with your referring to it as a "contaminant". Almost all mineral oils are hydrocarbons (chemically speaking), as are gasoline, diesel fuel, and natural gas. Carbon is what they are, so, by definition, it is not a contaminant. It's in there, we have to deal with it (e.g. detergent/dispersants). For that matter, the proponderance of sythetics (the name meaning synthesized from something else) are hydrocarbon based. So you're not eliminating carbon, it's just been somewhat more stableized.