View Single Post
Old 05-16-2007, 01:47 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     
Default 427 SOHC kits for $11,000!!!

Now that I have your attention. I have been working on Jim Dove for almost 5 years to make a SOHC kit. I finally got through. I spoke with Jim on Monday, it looks like the cammer kits will be a go. Jim was looking for 10 people to each buy 10 kits. The large run is what is responsible for the low price. Maybe better news is that I have been working hard to line up a consultant to help in the foundry. More details on this, but hopefully this will help with the casting quality. If you are in a rush, Jim says he can have kits in about 90 days, the whole production run will take much longer so purchase timing is flexible. Some details on the kit:

Block
This block is based on the Ford Lemans aluminum block. It externally is identical to the Ford piece. The main webs are much thicker, and so are the decks. This is going to be a dedicated SOHC block. The lifter bores and the rest of the cam tunnel will not be machined. The standard bore will be 4.25 with a max bore of 4.31. The main saddle bores will be finished to factory minimum, and the oil drain back holes will be drilled. It will come with main studs and crossbolts. The bores will need to be finish honed.

Heads
These are done with original tooling. They will come with 3/8 guides, and hardened seats. The heads are aluminum, and come with matching caps. The guides will need to be finish honed to match your valves, and a good valve job. No further machine work is necessary. The heads feature much thicker combustion chambers and decks then the originals, which were weak points.

Timing covers
The front cover is aluminum, and will no longer have a Dove logo on it. The back cover will be sheetmetal, like the original.

Timing Gears