Thread: Still looking
View Single Post
Old 07-24-2007, 04:29 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Wish I had my own PACE 427
Not Ranked     

LoBelly, that tyre smoke really compliments your RMC body shape well.

In my opinion there is no perfect Cobra, they all have pros & cons. I'm no expert, but here is my take. I'm probably the only one here stupid enough to try and write honestly about each car make.

DRB
Very early(pre 1995) had smaller rear guards etc and was based off Torana setup(live axle), then had what you would call 427 shape, still Torana, then body was lifted on the chassis I think 10mm to help fit EFI 302w engines(still Torana), then front guards etc got a little larger and a few other tweaks like dropped floor became standard and now offered in Torana or Jag, also modern dash available. All versions are monocoque(body bonded to chassis at the factory). Most have 302w, 351w is rare, new versions accomodate all modern engine choices.

Pros - very good performance out of the box, especially the later Torana based ones that everyone was fitting with Ford 9" rear. With a few tweaks it's very easy to have a competitive track car at the Nationals and also a great street car. Haven't seen much of the Jag based ones on the track. Have smaller wheel arches, so look like they sit lower than other Cobras, especially before the body lift. Have longer footwells. Doors roll over further at the top helping seal out water and make a nice arm rest. Nice deep dish wheels out of the box on Torana based cars.

Cons - one of the less original shapes, longer footwells means you can't have real side pipes and lots of the earlier DRBs have raised rear floors, so taller drivers can sit quite high in them(but helps in getting the mufflers/cats up high).

RMC