Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2014, 02:19 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Arntz Cobra
Not Ranked     
Default Cobra Club Open Track Day at Willow Springs

I have been working on my Arntz Cobra for 33 years. I have competed in SCCA Solo2's and lots of road rallies. I have always wanted to run an open track day but have never felt confident in the car. Over the last 6 months, I installed a new Classic Conversions front suspension with Wilwood brakes and updated the 406 engine with AFR heads. I also rewired the whole car. It runs and stops so much better now. At a recent Cobra Owners Club meeting, I was invited to come out to a track day at Willow Springs big track. This is a very challenging circuit and I have always wanted to drive it, so I agreed to go.

I had several concerns about doing this. 1. I was not sure how owners of very valuable original cars would feel about a newcomer with a lowly replica showing up. 2. I was not sure my car was up to the task. 3. At 67, I was not sure my physical condition was good enough either. I could not do anything about 1, so I worked on 2 and 3. I changed all the brake fluid to Castrol brand new DOT 4. I checked all the critical bolts and went over the new steering joints and connections very carefully. 3. I started working out every day.