Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2011, 01:59 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Kirkham #647 brushed
Not Ranked     
Default Helmet painting for ALMS driver

Just finished today my latest helmet painting, which will be used at the Laguna Seca, and Petit Le Mans ALMS races. I started painting helmets as a hobby, this is only my third one. I was asked to paint this Sparco carbon fiber helmet three weeks ago. It came along pretty well till I made a mistake with one layer of paint... I was pretty unhappy with it. So, two days before I need to deliver it, I started all over again. I put in a 12 hr day, then the following day another 8 hrs before I had to deliver it that night. It was stressful but rewarding too. I still encountered some problems with the clear coat, which you can't see unless you're up close, but it still bothers me. I need to make myself a quality paint booth.

Anyways, here it is. I was asked to use the same green as the car, black, and white, the rest was up to me. The car is an LMPC class car, Performance Tech team. The green is a lot brighter in direct sunlight, and also a lot deeper. The colors in these pictures are a little dull for some reason. The black portions is the actual carbon fiber shells, which made the job even harder.

Arno

Last edited by Avmaviator; 09-13-2011 at 08:05 PM..
Old 09-13-2011, 06:52 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: WTB MK IV
Not Ranked     

what ya charge ?
Old 09-13-2011, 06:55 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Contemporary Cobra, 427 side oiler
Not Ranked     

Looks like very tedious work, probably drive me bat ch!t crazy doing one. Nice work, but hard to imagine having the patience to do that with a Kirkham and monster aluminum FE waiting in the garage.
Old 09-13-2011, 08:04 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     

Quote:
Originally Posted by henryr View Post
what ya charge ?