Club Cobra

Club Cobra (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/)
-   Australian Cobra Club (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/australian-cobra-club/)
-   -   A bit of help for the new guy (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/australian-cobra-club/69185-bit-help-new-guy.html)

Newbuilder 05-03-2006 02:27 AM

A bit of help for the new guy

Hi all,

Bit new to all of the cobra thing, but have been researching and looking at these cars for the better part of two years (on and off). I have finally decided that it is time to take the plunge and build my own cobra.

Now I have looked at a million sites and read a million build stories, but I am trying to put my finger on which kit is for me.

Now a bit about me. I am no automotive engineer (although I have a fair idea of how a car works and have done some home modifying of my own car - suspension work, interior bits and pieces etc). I would like a kit that does not hold to many suprises and is as fairly straight forward as a build like this can be. I am not afraid to get my hands dirty or to give things a go, but I dont want this to turn into a project that I give up on because the build becomes to onerous.

Has anyone got any suggestions on a decent quality kit, that has good instructions, the company that produces it has good customer service and wont become a ten year project that costs me house?

Thanks for all of your help in advance,

Mike

simon clemens 05-03-2006 04:15 AM

In all honesty no kit will be fairly straight forward, I believe any project like this will hold many suprises. However if you really want one it can be done!
It takes more time than what you think it will and possibly more $$'s too... but don't be turned off by what I have not sugar coated, because building one is a fantastic experience and it will pay off :)

Mine is not licenced yet, but is drivable and is great fun to drive!!!!!!