Club Cobra

Club Cobra (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/)
-   NW Cobra Club (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/nw-cobra-club/)
-   -   Registering New Cobras in WA. (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/nw-cobra-club/62455-registering-new-cobras-wa.html)

Ron Going 03-12-2005 09:17 PM

Registering New Cobras in WA.

I'm new to the NW Cobra Club, but did see a thread about how to register a newly completed Cobra Kit. I just finished an ERA 289 FIA and got the State Inspection/ Licensing completed. For anyone who is about to do this, I'll pass on a lesson learned. The DOL has two options when you license your car. They can license it as a "kit car" or they can license it as "replica". If they do it as a kit car, it will be licensed by the year it was built (i.e. a new car). If they license it as a replica, it can be licensed by the year it is replicating. I registered my FIA as a 1966....therefore no smog worries. The registration will be as a "RCOBRA" with a vin number from the kit MSO or the ID stamped on the frame. If your local DOL will not do this, go to a different office. I know this can be done, I just did it in Tacoma. I would be happy to pass on more details if you want to email me. Good luck.....will see you all this year sometime at a Cobra function.

ALLEN ENGLISH 03-13-2005 02:37 PM

Ron thats good information, i'm sure it will be helpful for others. BTW my wife has a friend with a place in the Whidbey Island area and family at Friday Harbor. We are planning a drive up that way with our cobra this summer some time to visit the family. It would be cool to have a look at you FIA when we are in the area. I'll post again when we are on our way out that direction.

Michael C Henry 03-20-2005 01:48 PM