Club Cobra Gas-N Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Engine Building, Tuning, and Induction > 429/460 Engine Talk

Keith Craft Racing
Nevada Classics
Keith Craft Racing
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2009, 07:54 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Send a message via AIM to Luposlipophobia Send a message via MSN to Luposlipophobia Send a message via Yahoo to Luposlipophobia
Neutral     
Default New 460 Build

Before I get too into my post, I am fairly new to engine building and I have always wanted to do a scratch build so please bare with me if I sound like I don't know what I am talking about because I probably don't hahaha.

[Background on the project: I intend for this to be a streetable engine but I would also like for it to run with (and on occasion beat) the big boys on the strip. In other words, I am going for the most performance possible on pump gas.]

Anyway, I chose the Ford Racing 460 Super Cobra Jet block as my starting point for this build. However, I am somewhat confused as to which heads I want. Ford Racing in particular offers a few heads that caught my eye. They are the High Port Head, High Port NASCAR, GT-40 Turbo Swirl, Z Head, and the Super Cobra Jet heads. However, I am not quite sure if 1) Which ones will actually fit the block and 2) What the differences between them are. If you could help me out by answering these two questions I would highly appreciate it. Thank you!

Last edited by Luposlipophobia; 06-16-2009 at 08:47 AM..
Old 06-15-2009, 09:18 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Lonestar LS 427, Keith Craft 501,Toploader
Neutral