1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Old 08-19-2008, 07:24 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA FIA #2124, 347 Stroker, Roller head, 4x2 Weber IDF, TKO600
Not Ranked     
Default Engine Start... What is normal?

I've read a few of the posts on Weber tuning, and I am not trying to repeat what has been covered in the past, but I am new to the 4x2 Webers on V8s (I've had some experience with multiple SUs on Datsuns) and recently started my motor and took it for a few short test drives and wanted to find out what is normal, and what can be adjusted. I wanted to get the "expert" opinions before I started messing with the carbs.

Here is what I have:
ERA 289FIA
Engine built by T&L (won't go much further there)
347 Stroker, Aluminum heads
44 IDF Carbs set by T&L, will have to look up jetting, etc
T&L custom roller cam, with what seems like lots of overlap
ERA headers with side pipes
Four K&N style air cleaners
12° advance at 950 RPM

Cam info is as follows:
Intake Exhaust
Duration @ .050 224 230
Lobe Separation 108
Gross Valve Lift 0.558 0.513

Here are my issues:
Backfiring out of the carbs intermittently on initial throttle opening (not all the time)
Afterfire out of the pipe on deccel (sounds more like: gurble, gurble, pop, gurble)
When the vehicle is static and I run up RPMs to 2500-3000 I get some afterfire from the pipes. I was running this RPM to check the mechanical advance of the distributor. Since I am still waiting for plates, I haven't been able to make any real runs on the street without risking a ticket (I have kept it at low RPMs driving around the block with the exception of very short bursts of acceleration).
When I was checking the total advance, the timing seemed to fluctuate by 1° every time I would get a pop out of the exhaust. Total advance at high RPM is about 34°.