Thread: Newbie here
View Single Post
Old 05-20-2011, 08:24 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: 66 Cobra
Not Ranked     

It's a difficult decision to build or buy. It's really hard to determine a good kit company from a bad one in your beginning stages of learning about these cars. There are really not that many people that have a broad range of knowledge about the pros and cons of building various brands. You have to have the experience of building more than just one brand, and that is the problem. Everyone has an opinion, but what experience is that opinion based on. Has the person giving advice built a car or bought their car.

I talked to one manufacturer a few years back that admitted his car was an older design, but it could be made to be a really good car. Another friend has built three cars all from the same company, but admits some problem areas with the car. When you are building and learn how to address and fix the shortcomings with the one brand it is easier to stay with that brand than start the learning curve all over again. The term “kit” may apply to some cars but not others. Some you can follow the instructions like doing a model plane and complete it. Others call theirs a “kit” but it is nothing more than selling you the basic parts and you figure it out. The quality of the manual is very telling.

One thing for sure, there are very few that will bad mouth their car brand in an open forum. They do not want their company to go out of business and the value of their car to be less. The other side of that is, even if the kit was not that good many builders put their heart and soul into the car and can make it better than originally designed. The car becomes part of you and what you can do.