Club Cobra Keith Craft Racing  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Engine Building, Tuning, and Induction > 429/460 Engine Talk

MMG Superformance
Nevada Classics
Keith Craft Racing
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2004, 01:39 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SCJ429 & FE406
Not Ranked     
Default Super CJ blues

Hello 385 fans:

I have been running a 429SCJ for three years. It has been modified somewhat. This is the deal:
D0VE-A 4-bolt block
SCJ rods
2YAB 3,85" crank
D0OE SCJ rods
D0OE-R heads
Wiseco flat top pistons for a cr. close to what, 11.0 and 466CID
Crane 214 / 222 535 / 565 SAE8620 Steel Roller cam
Weiand Stealth 8021 SCJ intake
Holley 3310 out of the box
Hooker 1 7/8 primary and 3,5" collectors
MSD pro-billet set at 34° total and 12 initial
MSD Digital 6 box
Crane teflon coated springs, Crane titanium retainers 10°, Crane Gold race rockers and roller lifters to go with the cam.

The engine runs smoothly and starts right up. I am a little disappointed with its get up power and high range.

If I hold the converter and launch it hard, it will burn rubber for a long time, but a dry get up and go is a little sleepy, and the torque just is not availalble until after around 2800 rpm.

Any suggestions?
Old 01-09-2004, 05:08 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: A CSX Cobra,1966 GT350 and an '06 Ford Heritage GT
Not Ranked     

Gears. What differential are you running? a 4 OR 5 speed? What