Club Cobra Gas-N Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Engine Building, Tuning, and Induction > 429/460 Engine Talk

Nevada Classics
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
MMG Superformance
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2008, 05:49 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: spf1266 460,TKO,titanium/black stripes
Not Ranked     
Default New Heads

I have a SPF Cobra with a 460ci 485hp Ford Crate engine that was installed back in 02" with aluminum cobra jet heads. I've been thinking of changing out the heads to the newer Jon Kaase super cobra jet heads. I'm not a mechanic and was wondering if the newer heads were a straight bolt on or if other mods are necessary for the install. How much increased HP am I looking at with these heads. I'm running a Holley 750cfm carb and a Performer RPM manifold.
1967 Pontiac GTO Ram Air
1962 Thunderbird Conv.
1991 Mustang GT Built
Old 08-19-2008, 07:03 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Lonestar LS 427, Keith Craft 501,Toploader
Not Ranked     

I believe those are the P-51 heads. I would just give Jon a call and talk to him about them. I think they are supposed to be good for a 50 hp increase. The P-51 heads are configured differently, but the big question is... what would be the difference in having your heads profesionally ported vs the P-51? It would be much cheaper to port your existing heads than purchasing new ones. I have been thinking of this very same thing. I know Keith Craft has a CNC port program for the Cobra jet head, I'd give him a call as well.
Good luck and keep me posted,
Tim
Old 08-19-2008, 03:55 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Superformance # 532, 466 BB, 560HP