• 1 Post By Jerry Clayton

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 05:42 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: I'm Cobra-less!
Send a message via AIM to blykins
Not Ranked     
Default The appeal of modular Ford engines...

As a builder, I have to be in tune with the desires/wants/needs of my customers. With that being said, it seems a lot of guys are turning to the Coyote to power their Cobras.

I have my own viewpoints here, but I'm trying to be objective as I can....so I'm asking this:

What do you guys find appealing about the Coyote engine? Is it the EFI? Price? Something different from the other Cobra owners?

If I could build a naturally aspirated EFI modular Ford that made more horsepower for around the same price of a Coyote, would that be appealing? I dabble in modular stuff and currently have a Ford Racing block being machined right now for a 331ci build, based on 4V heads. Naturally aspirated horsepower should be over 500 and this engine could be finished in either carbureted (and a distributor too) form or in all electronic EFI form.
Old 05-23-2013, 06:13 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA 427 S/C W/Holmon Moody Original Nascar build #508 Iron Block/heads (C5AE-H) Bal/Blu 427 Sideoiler; 780 Holley Dbl. Pump; 4 Speed Top Loader; AP Racing Bks; IRS; 15" Trigo pins
Not Ranked     

Dbl post, sry

Last edited by Silversmith; 05-23-2013 at 06:20 AM..
Old 05-23-2013, 06:15 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     

What about an EFI 302 SBF that would make the same horsepower for the same money and come with a warranty?
Old 05-23-2013, 06:16 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA 427 S/C W/Holmon Moody Original Nascar build #508 Iron Block/heads (C5AE-H) Bal/Blu 427 Sideoiler; 780 Holley Dbl. Pump; 4 Speed Top Loader; AP Racing Bks; IRS; 15" Trigo pins
Not Ranked