Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2010, 09:41 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Open Track, some "newbie" thoughts

I've never run a BIG track before SAAC-35, I thought I'd share some observations as a "newbie" to the more typical mainland tracks. The Hawaii Raceway track, where I've run for years with many different vehicles is fairly short at about 1.3 miles or so. One long straight, the drag race lanes, followed by reasonably tight, slow, corners on the back side. I've had plenty of Auto X experience, did some Drifting (very popular in Hawaii), ran a dirt track car and ran Formula Fords. The local Medford Oregon track is actually a "Go Kart" track, wide, well paved, but much like an Auto X track, VERY tight, very high G corners one right after the other!

So, there I was at a "real" track, Infineon, I ran the first open track session in the Novice group. I was surprised how comfortable it felt right away, plenty of time between corners, plenty of straight sections, at first it felt like a Sunday drive (on steroids though ). The ERA has a lot of power and combined with the road race slicks it only took a couple of laps before I realized I needed to run in a faster group than Novice.