Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2015, 11:48 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA 427 S/C, Ford 427 Side-oiler 2x4 bbl
Not Ranked     
Default "Typing" Brake Fluid?

I'm a life-long professional Auto Tech (Mechanic) and I've never found the need to do this before but...

I own ERA #446 and the clutch fluid is getting low. It's right at the port for the feed line to the MC and needs to be topped off.

The problem is, I have NO idea what type of brake fluid is presently in it. I've seen customer cars where someone put the wrong type of fluid in and I have NO intention of dealing with a ruined hydraulic system myself. It is NOT pretty.

AND...I have NO idea how I can determine what type of BF is presently in it.

I was thinking I could pull a small sample out of the reservoir and test it by adding/mixing in each of the different types of fluid to see if I get an adverse reaction from each type (Dot 3, Dot 5, etc).

But I'm still not sure that would be fail-safe.

Does anyone know a better way to "type" the brake fluid that's in the clutch reservoir???

I mean, other than taste?

Scratching my head,

Phill Pollard - Co. Springs, CO
Old 04-30-2015, 12:52 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Exact 427 Carbon Car
Not Ranked     

Phill,
Usually when the fluid drops it is either leaking or the pad are wearing out and allowing the reservoir to drop. The only drawback to adding I can think of is when you replace your pads and push the piston back in it will push all that fluid to the reservoir and overflow the stuff you added earlier. First I'd look to be sure you are not leaking out somewhere.

Word on the street is you should change your fluid once a year to prevent moisture absorption. Pick a hi temperature fluid you like and purge the system. Going forward you will know what to use.