Old 02-16-2018, 06:41 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: 87 Mustang, 5.0/Holley/T5
Not Ranked     
Default New guy

Hello all!

Just discovered this forum.

I'm Jason, work at Ford ATNPC in Livonia, MI. I'm a prototype transmission technician, and at the moment I'm in the valve body group.

I have an '87 Mustang LX converted to a 5 liter/T5. We've owned it since 2007, but it hasn't run since 2012. Carb issues. Hopefully, that will be fixed this spring, now that finances and time permit. (Private school for 2 kids is expensive! )

That being said, I joined the forum to learn about Cobras, right? My dream car has been a Cobra since I was 8 or 9- I was born in 1975.

I'm getting to the point in my life where it may be able to actually happen, so I'd like to follow the group's posts about makers, building, etc. to get an idea of what I'm getting into. I've modded several cars in the past, but never 'built' one. The Mustang was an original 4 cylinder auto car, my neighbor had a 302 lying around and we bought a 5 speed from D&D. Thankfully, the previous owner had already had a V8 in at one time, and it had the 8.8 in it already.

The current plan, which is always subject to change, is to get a FactoryFive base kit, and mod it for a 428CJ powered "DragonSnake" replica. It would probably not be street driven much (I have the Mustang for that), so I'd like especially to get input from those who race them on the quarter mile. I know, they are built for twisties, but at this time that's just not my bag. Besides, I can always build ANOTHER one for that, right?

Well, if you've read this far, I've bored you enough. Thanks for letting me in and see you around the group!

jk

Jason
a resident of "stately" Wayne, MI.
Hopefully soon to be Cobra kit builder!
Old 02-16-2018, 06:50 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF MKII Riverside Racer FIA
Not Ranked