LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2018, 09:59 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Rising from the ashes..

Good day all,

Even with a join date of 2014, I'm still quite new to Club Cobra. Being raised in a Ford family, I have never been without a blue oval in my driveway. However, with that said, I have been a long time CC lurker. Many of you may recall my late Father, Rick Parker who passed away mid-November, 2014 while tinkering away on his beloved NAF slabside 289.

As the son of a long-standing CC member, and a fellow gearhead, I have just recently acquired the results of my Father's blood, sweat and tears. Unfortunately, the car has been sitting in storage, untouched and un-driven for three years. Flat-spotted and cracked tires, rotten gas in the tank, lines and carbs, and stale fluids all need refreshing. I have made a promise to myself to get Dad's car back on the road ASAP. New tires are a necessity, and all 4 Webers will likely need to be pulled and inspected and/or rebuilt thanks to the California ethanol pump gas. There is also a diff leak and the battery is toast. The era-specific single stage paint needs a great deal of attention, which luckily is my specialty. I initially set a deadline of completing the car over the winter to debut it at the Cars and Coffee Folsom (Sacramento, CA area) on Jan 5, 2019, however, I don't foresee making that deadline. This will be a long road, but the enjoyment will be in the journey no matter the duration. Regardless, I will complete this and get it driving again.

Below is a pic of the car after Dad completed a L-O-N-G body off restoration many years ago. My goal is to get his pride and joy back to its former glory - in my Father's honor.