Like Tree50Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2022, 08:28 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Interesting "old" aluminum recreation

Ahoy Gang. Sorry if this is a repeat. Tried to post this earlier tonight and I thought it posted, but now I don't see it. May just be my technology skills at work. I'm a newbie to the site.

Anyway, I'm looking for a bit of an education on a mid 80's aluminum body recreation. I haven't seen the car yet, but the original owner says the frame (and a jig and some frame tubing) was found outside the old AC plant. And that he talked AC (whoever was there in those days) into building him 4 MKIII rolling chassis. They were all the larger SC tubing. Of the original 4, he still has 2. Official registered VIN's are "02" and "04". He provided the power train after the cars were shipped to the US. I don't think the engines are 427, but are bored to more than this and coupled with 4 speed top loader. He says some original parts that were "left over", but mostly recreation parts.

Is it even possible that these frames and cars were built at the AC plant with those VIN's? From what I have seen, they look like extremally good replica's. but trying to get details from the old scratcher that still owns them is like pulling teeth, which makes me nervous.

He isn't representing them as "original csx cars" or anything like that, but clearly the history of a very good aluminum body recreation that was assembled in England and maybe even at the original AC plant is interesting to say the least.

Thoughts?
1985 CCX likes this.
Old 12-19-2022, 02:34 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Shelby CSX4005LA, Roush 427IR
Not Ranked     

Need pictures
Old 12-19-2022, 04:29 AM
CC Member/Contributor
Visit my Photo Gallery
Gold Star Contributor

Cobra Make, Engine: 70 Shelby convertible, ERA-FIA, 66 mustang convertible, mystery Ford powered 2dr convertible
Not Ranked     

Quote: