Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By J. T. Toad

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2003, 08:22 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     
Default Power Steering

Has anyone managed to install a power steering pump on a 428 / 427 in a Classic Roadster. There is no room for a factory pump and before I go searching the junk yards for something small enough and making brackets etc. has someone done the leg work? I've also wondered is there an electric pump that would work with a Mustang II rack?
Old 05-23-2003, 01:18 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: I used to fix them for a living
Not Ranked     

Why power steering, these cars are light.
Old 05-23-2003, 02:32 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     

It's not real complicated it is just more comfortable to drive with power steering. I'm a big guy and chose to go with a small steering wheel to ease getting in and out of the vehicle. I've already built the car with a power rack in anticipation of using power steering. I've been driving it without the power so you can imagine what it is like to try and park
Old 05-23-2003, 02:56 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: AK Cobra, Jag based Lexus 1UZFE Engine and box
Not Ranked     

An electric pump should work with any power steering rack as all you're doing is providing simple hydraulic pressure .

The benefit of using an electric pump is that you can choose to switch it off when moving at speed to get the correct feel, and then switch it back on when parking to give you the fingertip parking required.

Cheers,

Tony
Old 05-23-2003, 02:58 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     

Why I WANT power steering in my Cobra, currently not P.S.