Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2003, 01:00 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: sold a SPF
Not Ranked     
Default 351 engine question - crate????

Is a crate 351 a good choice to go relative to reliability and emmision approval etc. Looking to cruise and not race..ok maybe a drag strip once a year.javascript:smilie('')

On a limited budget and trying to see if I can get into a new SPF...Also looking for a good 2003 SPF- used.

Thanks,

Rick

It's 4 am ...I think i have been bitten
Old 12-21-2003, 05:22 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     

Rick,
I have plenty of experience with a 351 Crate engine. I bought one back in 99 for $3,750. I ran it very hard for 4 years putting about 4,000 track miles and 3,000 street miles before it exploded into a pile of shrapnell with nothing left but a flywheel and a balancer. I feel I got my moneys worth. Had I not run it up to 7.000 rpms on the track every summer it probably would still be runing today.
I know lots of guys will tell you about builder X who knows more about engines than the engineers at Ford but for what you get for what you pay the crate engines are hard to beat. Don't forget they're are thousands of Mustangs running on the street with occasional trips down the dragstrip, that have 50,000 miles or more on them. All with crate engines.

Good luck
Cranky

Last edited by RACER X #99; 12-21-2003 at 07:59 AM..
Old 12-21-2003, 07:26 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF "street car" 418 stroker
Not Ranked     

A 351 crate is a great way to go, lots of options and different setups are available. However, you mention emissions and that is another issue you should address BEFORE you buy. Do your homework and thoughly research the state regs and find out what their requirements are.

Definately check out the used market. A late model SPF is a great way to go and usually available.