Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2004, 08:43 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: sold a SPF
Not Ranked     
Default Turnkey Vs Kits >>why?

As my profile indicates, I am a new owner of a Superformance Cobra turnkey chassis with an engine soon to be built and installed by Performance Engineering. I am also very new to the replica car scene.

I am very curious to know why people choose to build a cobra from a kit instead of purchasing a turnkey chassis.

Outside of a father-son project are there other compelling reasons?

I have heard of experiences where people spend a tremendous amount of time and energy on their cobra kits and end up spending more money than intended. Also, I hear some of the completed kits can end up delivering an inferior product compared to a Superformance turnkey chassis. I use Superformance as the gold standard because I believe this product to be the most cost effective in terms of resale, quality and authenticity among all of the turnkey chassis manufactures. Please keep in mind, this is based on my personal research and findings. I am not trying to be arrogant etc...just sharing my findings.

Additionally, isn't a warranty, factory built reliability, superior fit and finish and a strong manufacture/dealer network important?

Do you agree it might be risky to buy a kit from a small operation? I think the landscape has changed in the last 12 months from what I have been reading. It seems some kit manufactures have gone in and out of business. I would think that would hurt one's resale value considerably.

Do kit builders conduct a spreadsheet analysis factoring in all associated cost including resale? Or is the decision making process driven by emotion or perceived - actual cost savings?

Thanks for your feedback.
Old 01-24-2004, 08:46 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery
Lifetime Contributor

Cobra Make, Engine: Kirkham, KMP178 / '66 GT350H, 4-speed
Not Ranked