Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2004, 07:19 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF 1968-351 Windsor
Not Ranked     
Default Dropped floor in SPF?

Fellow members: Does anyone know if Superformance has dropped the floor height to accomodate taller drivers, and if they have, what model year they began doing it. I beleive they have dropped the footboxes, I would just like to know if they have also dropped they seat area. I'm about 6'2 1/2" and the last SPF that I sat in had the rim of the windscreen about an inch above my eye level. Any info would be welcome.

Thanks

Bruce
Old 02-10-2004, 10:00 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: I used to fix them for a living
Not Ranked     

They dropped the driver's side floor a bit a few years ago. Seat height didn't change. but the adjusters can be removed to lower it another 1-2". I am 6'-2" and never had an issue sitting too high in an SPF, especially compared to some other brands.
Old 02-10-2004, 11:03 AM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Superformance 156, ex Paxton 351, now a 392 Ford Racing Stroker
Not Ranked     

as Mr . Fixit said, series 300 cars and newer had the following changes to accommodate taller folks :

DESIGN IMPROVEMENTS

SERIES 300...
- Floor is lowered 2" in heel area on drivers side (outer frame has also been widened in this area)
- New pedal box 1-1/2" lower and 1-1/2" further forward (foot box changed)
- Dead pedal foot rest pad next to clutch pedal

- Door hinges raised (to clear drivers shin)
- Seat is built with steel tube frame and rubber strap diaphragms
- The seat sliders can be removed and the seats fitted flat onto the floor to accommodate a 6'4" or 250-280 lb. person
- The Latest Superformance cobra interior is more spacious

Bill
Old 02-10-2004, 11:15 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery