Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2004, 12:42 PM
Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Shell Valley. 427W , SB-100
Not Ranked     
Default CA BAR Smog test

Hi - I'm new to this and it's my first posting. I just got my SV on the road for the first time about a month ago after 14 months of building. Lots of details to finish of course. I've got my CA SB100 # (285) and I made an appointment with the BAR at Fullerton College for smog. The gal at the DMV in Sacto just said I needed my paperwork, oil, water & gas...and a gas cap. Now, I just have the flip cap that came with the kit. I did make a rubber gasket to fit between the body and the plate with the tube. I'd like to know what I should be aware of so I won't be surprised. Any advice you can give me will be appreciated. Thanks.

Dave
Old 02-13-2004, 01:12 PM
Banned
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF w/392CI stroker
Not Ranked     

Dave,

We're close (what, 15 minutes?). The only BAR experience I ever had was when the DMV randomly picked my (since sold) '93 Corvette for one of those mandatory BAR smog inspections. I had to go to the one in Fullerton and they made me replace my gas cap (they had them right there in stock for something like $10, so I just bought one and let it go at that). The tech told me that it was not sealing 100% (he installed it onto another device). That is the only thing I can think of that is related to your question.

As for my SPF, I have a locking gas cap under the flip cap. I would never trust the seal on the flip cap to hold back fuel, especially if you drive hard (which, by definition of owning a Cobra, you do ).

We should hook up one these weekends when I'm not so buried with coaching Little League.

-Deano

EDIT: I will most likely be gunning around town on Sunday. Write me at dharisis@firstam.com and perhaps I can swing by to check out your SV.

Last edited by RedBarchetta; 02-13-2004 at 01:15 PM..