Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2004, 11:46 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: la exotics 289 5speed 9in. 270hp 295tq w/ g-tech
Not Ranked     
Default newbie ask for help

greetings, newbie here need some help. i have had my old LAE for about 15 months, finally pulled a valve/rocker cover found some castings numbers do they mean anything? big numbers 289 between cyl. 1&2 then 65 between 3&4 also small 5c29 i was told it was 5.0 but i think fire order is 302 i think i read here they are different. i cant find any numbers on the block. are they down by the starter motor? the reason why i pulled rocker cover is when i changed oil i cut oil filter open i thought looked horrible i've stalling to open motor scared to look thought it would be all nasty thankfully it was spot beautiful. this is my first post i hope i'm doing this right please excuse my typo's and thank you in advance for any help have a good day. mgilbert
Old 02-22-2004, 02:34 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Mgilbert,

Don't worry about asking questions. The numbers that you posted I am guessing were under the valve cover and I think they are the part number. As for the 5.0, that is a 302 to 307 cubic inch engine, which in your case is a 302. I am not sure what you mean by the firing order being different unless you are talking about a 302 and 351. If your engine is a 5.0 then it will be the 302 and should have that firing order. The breakdowns that I have for Ford parts doesn't have those exact numbers but there are a million different combinations it seems. Maybe one of the others will have a breakdown of your exact numbers. It would almost look as if you have a 65 engine which would be a 289 and not the 302, but the 289 would be listed as a 4.7 if you used the liter table.

Ron

View my Miscellaneous Gallery
Old 02-22-2004, 05:56 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked