Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2004, 03:58 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default True Cobra Versus Replica

HELLO; I AM VERY NEW TO COBRA COLLECTING. I HAD A VERY UNBELIEVABLE OPPORTUNITY TO VEIW THE MOST MIND STAGGERING PRIVATE COLLECTION. THERE WAS 1 KING COBRA, 1 TWIN PAXTON, ONE OF CARROLL SHELBY"S PAST PERSONAL WITH (GET THIS C-6) AND AT LEAST 6-8 OTHER PAST RACE ONLY AUTOS FROM 24 HOURS AT LEMANS,DAYTONA, SEBRING AND SO ON. AFTER SEEING THIS ARRAY THE OWNER AS ME WHY WOULD I BUY A REPLICA AS NOT TO BUY A COMPLETED TRUE 427 COBRA FROM SHELBY IN NEVADA. IS THERE ANY REAL REASON NOT TO IS MY QUESTION. THIS COLLECTOR CLAIMS THEY SELL FOR U.S. $39,900.00 PLEASE EXPLAIN THE DIFFERENCES. MY EMAIL BECAUSE I CAN NOT SEEM TO GET AROUND THIS SITE TO WELL. LAURELSUMMIT@ATT.COM I HAD POSTED A 427 COMPLETE ENGINE FOR SALE TO THOSE WHO WANT ONE $8500.00 PLEASE COMMENT. DAN McGREEVY, PITTSBURGH, PA.
Old 04-16-2004, 04:14 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Heading the 289FIA route, ERA is the choice du jour
Not Ranked     

Ka-BOOM!

That, my friend, is the sound of an hand grenade going off. Prepare for the inevitable fire-fight to ensue.

There are a lot of fine replicas out there, and words like "true Cobra" really are quite controversial.

There are "original" Cobras (Big, big $), "genuine" Cobras (as you mention) and "replicas". Some will argue the "genuine" Cobras are actually replicas.

I'm leaning toward an E.R.A. 289FIA replica, myself. If I wanted a 427 Cobra, I'd seriously consider the new SAI car, but I'd want to talk to some of the other guys here that have purchased this car and have taken delivery before I cut my check. I think it would be pretty cool to own a "genuine" Shelby American Cobra. Nevertheless, I'm leaning toward E.R.A. for their outstanding quality record.

That being said, I'm going to duck and tuck...

Dangerous Doug
Old 04-16-2004, 04:35 PM