Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2004, 03:30 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Smile Ford or Chevy V8s?

Hello everyone! My name's Adam and I'm a motoring journalist from the UK writing an article in a brochure for an engine building company called British American Engines. I'm writing about Chevy and Ford V8 (small block or big block) and would like to ask you guys which one you would prefer to use (1) as an engine builder and (2) if you were to fit one into a replica Cobra (sorry to swear, but a lot of those who will be reading this article build their own cars)? It's kind of a debate article, weighing up the pros and cons of both; eg, size, weight, ease of build, power, etc.

I'd really appreciate your help and if the web administrator is reading this post I'd be happy to send you the article when it's published.

Thank you all in advance for your input. It will be invaluable.

Best wishes,
Adam

Adam James, freelance motoring journalist
Old 04-23-2004, 04:31 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Shamrock ,350 chevy, jag axles
Not Ranked     

Hi Adam, isn't the Internet a funny thing? A british journalist, posting in an US - forum, and the first answer comes from Germany.

In the US, most Cobras are equipped with a Ford engine. Chevy engines are rare in cobras, and they have a much lower resale value. The original shelbys were equipped with Ford, and the US boys seem to have the demand to be as close to the original as possible, also you might discuss the point that originals have never been equipped with a 302, 351, 460 or 502.