9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2008, 12:54 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Street Beast "Grabber Orange"/Silver stripe w/418W 520HP full roller, T5. and: Backdraft #814 RT3B "Black Label" "Magic Black"/Sterling Grey stripe, 408W, full roller, 475HP, T5
Not Ranked     
Default 460ci 500 HP Cobra. "Streetable" or not?

I am new to this having just recently been bitten by the Cobra "must have one" snake. I have owned high performanc cars all my life and alway wanted a Cobra but am just now finally getting one after owning many Corvettes, Porsches, ZXs, etc.
I have found a beautiful Cobra that my wife and I both want to purchase but some of my friends say I shoud not because it has a 500 HP 460 big block in it. I keep being told that it is not a "street" car and that it will not be drivable under normal street conditions.
I only wnat to use the car for nice weekend days for short back-road trips to nearby towns for lunch and a nice drive, etc.
My question is: Is a Cabra with a 500 HP 460 big block a "streetable" car or is it for the drag strip or show use only? I know you guys will be able to answer this as you all own one. Please let me know if I would be making a poor choice buying a 460ci 500 HP Cobra just for weekend fun.
Thanks, Don
Old 06-02-2008, 02:12 AM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Don,

There are a couple of things to consider. A guy here has a 512CI, 600+ horsepower engine in his and it is quite street able. It will depend a lot on how the engine was built. Either way, you will need to be careful for awhile as that much power and torque can cause you to lose it easily. If you can, get the owner to take you for a ride in it and see how it feels. Also look for any heating problems in traffic. Find out what the idle is and what RPM range the power and torque come in at.