Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2009, 10:54 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: West Coast-Ford Performance Solutions 533 BB
Not Ranked     
Question Poor low end response...

Hi! This is the end of my second year of working on my build, a West Coast. I've read about every thread I can find on this awesome forum about HP/Torque/Intake manifolds, exhaust impact on performance, dyno vs chassis dyno, rear end gear preferences, cam choices, etc. but as an amateur cobra builder I'm still stumped. I've a 533BB in my West Coast, built by Ford Performance Solutions in Anaheim. Intake is Victor Jr. with a Demon 850 annular single carburetor. Engine dyno'd about 650 HP at 5200 and about 500 torque around 3500 maxxing about 640 (where is that sheet..??). I don't have the cam specs right now. Transmission is a built up C6 (by the same shop) and I believe the ratios are 2.46, 1.40 and 1.00. It has a Ford 9" rear with a 2.75 gearset (recommended as optimal by the kit mfgr). Tires are 295/50/15 rear and 265/60/15 up front. I set the timing at 15 degrees, with 32 degrees total advance. Kitcarbp suggested I really won't know how it can behave until I've had it tuned on a chassis dyno.