Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2010, 06:51 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA 427 - #783
Not Ranked     
Default Autocross Tire Pressure and Chassis Set Up

I'm taking my ERA 427 (six weeks old) for its first autocross in the next few weeks, and I was looking to get some advice on some initial tire pressures and chassis set up.

For reference, I'm at 2700# with me in the car, with the ERA IRS and four corner Spax coilovers at 6 clicks out. 15" pin drive wheels with MT E/T Street radials with 28psi in front at 26psi in the rear for street driving. I have front and rear sway bars - don't know the settings off the top of my head on those.

Since I'm a novice at autocross, I'll probably be focusing on the driving more than the setup, but I might as well start out at a reasonably good setup.

I probably won't change any chassis settings the first day out, and will work on getting the proper tire pressures. Next time, work on coilovers. Next time, sway bars, etc.

Thinking of starting at 38/36psi for the pressures.

Any advice?

ERA Registry Map

If you have an ERA and want to be listed, contact me with your info and I'll put it up. The minimum info I need is chassis number and location. The rest is up to you. The most information needed would be: chassis number, body type, city, name, CC nickname, and email address.
Old 06-28-2010, 10:56 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     

I read this article and lots of good info: http://www.tirerack.com/features/solo2/handbook.htm
Larry
Old 06-28-2010, 11:44 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: VSE alum. frame, FFR carbonfiber body (under construction)
Not Ranked