Club Cobra Gas - N Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Manufacturers, Engine Builders, tools, and parts. > Classic Roadsters II

MMG Superformance
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2001, 01:52 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Send a message via AIM to JBlake
Not Ranked     
Default Rear suspension

Where to begin....

I'm new to the Cobra world and a first time member to of this site.
My Classic sits a live axle 9" Ford rear end. I expect the live axle to be a rough ride but never imagined it would be as stiff as it is.

The shocks currently installed are non-adjustable and take forever to return after compression. I'm looking for some advice on how to soften the ride but don't know the application for which I should be looking to buy replacement.

How do I go about determining shocks woudl fit and work? Don't have a clue where to begin.

Thanks for your patience.
Old 07-16-2001, 08:56 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Classic Roadsters, Tweaked 351W, T-5Z, CRII Tech Support Team.
Not Ranked     

The post below this one, same subject, describes rear shock options.

The component procurement manual that came with your kit references a rear shock originally found on a VW, with VW part #. This is where the cross referencing begins.

I cross referenced it to a Koni shock which seems to work OK. Don Scott has a Pro-Shock which also works well. Also discussed were rear springs. Try your auto supply store for the Chevette replacement Moog springs, or Don's springs if the ones you're using are too stiff.
Old 07-17-2001, 04:11 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     

Thanks Jack.