Club Cobra

Club Cobra (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/)
-   ERA---Speak with Bob Putnam (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/era-speak-bob-putnam/)
-   -   oil temp (http://www.clubcobra.com/forums/era-speak-bob-putnam/21106-oil-temp.html)

era620 10-18-2002 06:51 PM

oil temp

Bob,

Yes, I am a psycho. I do drive in this cold weather. But I find that the oil temp takes a long time to get to a point where the temp even registers on the gauges. Is this detrimental to the engine? I have an oil cooler and am wondering if there is something I should do to impede the flow of air.....?

era620

speed220mph 10-18-2002 07:22 PM

Hi era620:
Hope you don't mind me butting in, but I've had a lot of experience with oil-temperature control with my aircraft engine and high-performance engines in general. With that said, I like engine oil to operate at a minimum of 180 degrees F, or about 82 degrees C. This allows the oil in hotter areas of the engine such as the heads to reach 212 degrees F, or 100 degrees C, which boils off impurities in the oil such as the dreaded corrosion causing moisture. To do this I simply apply the old 200 mph tape over 1/2 to 2/3 of the oil cooler depending on ambient air temperature. Caution: If you're in the competition mode, don't do this because the engine should get all the cooling it can when under heavy load, so restrict it to street operation only.

Dan Stryffeler 10-18-2002 07:27 PM

Have to agree with speed220mph, I've been blocking off my oil cooler for the last month with duct tape... it does bring up the old question though... where are you taking the temp from - pan, oil line? It makes a difference

Dan

ACHiPo 03-01-2020 01:13 PM