14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2012, 03:18 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Backdraft #1115 --VMS 427 c.i.
Not Ranked     
Default CHP and BAR recommendations

I'm an Auburn resident getting ready to make a Cobra purchase.

Does anyone have recommendations for CHP and BAR locations in the Sacramento area in which to maneuver as painlessly as possible through the SB100 process?

thanks in advance --

Jeff
Old 02-11-2012, 06:05 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     

From what I hear all the friendlies are in the Bay Area. It might be worth the trip.
Old 02-11-2012, 08:51 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: 427 Unique Roadster, FE by FE Specialties, 470hp, Top Loader, 3:31 Jag
Not Ranked     

I had mine done in 2004. I called the New Castle CHP office and they sent an officer to my house (Roseville) for inspection and VIN assignment. Took 10 minutes then we talked cars for an hour. Used the main BAR station down by the Arena - in-n-out.... painless. Ran all the paper work through the Roseville DMV..... very smooth. Just don't try and play any games and you should be fine.

CA SPCN 2004-040 complete and legal

http://www.uniquecobra.com/

Last edited by pgermond; 02-11-2012 at 08:53 PM..
Old 02-12-2012, 01:13 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     

Thank you --I live close to the Newcastle CHP, so might as well start there!
Old 02-16-2012, 08:30 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: F5R 331ci
Not Ranked     

When I went through the CHP inspection last year the officer said that I didn't have a choice of locations and that it was based on my zip code. YMMV That would be great if they send out an officer so you don't have to jump through any hoops and drive to an undesirable location.