Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2006, 06:42 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF 2540
Not Ranked     
Default Nubee question

Hey everybody, this is my first time here and most likely not my last. I just placed my order on an SPF two weeks ago . I'm very new to this and I'm trying to educate myself as fast as possible. So far I'm leaning toward the 351w stroked to 427, with the mild cam from Smeding Performance in Sacramento with the Tremec TCET4617 trans. I went with Smeding because the guys at SPF recommended them. Does anyone have any other suggestions on engine builders in the greater Sacramento area? I've got about 8 weeks to make a final decision on the engine and don't want to rule anything out. Thanks in advance
Old 09-27-2006, 08:02 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF 2046; P.E. Aluminum 427 Windsor.
Not Ranked     

Mr. Monster,
Welcome aboard. I can assure you this won't be your last post. This site is addictive.

What color did you order? Who is your dealer? Will you do your own install?

For a local engine builder with a loyal following and rave reviews you should check out Tom Lucas over at FE Specialties. He's a heck of a nice guy too. His ad is on this site.
Although many of us successfully run non-locally built engines, I thnk it is smart to go local.
Good luck and welcome to the group.
Old 09-27-2006, 08:29 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     

Hey Jim,
I got sunset red with titanium stripe. The dealer is John in Reno and he recommended GT Auto, "Gary" to do the install. I've been to GT Auto but I had my impatient kids with me and couldn't interview him like I wanted, but he seemed cool. I'm going to stay with the locals. It just seems like the better way to go.

I can't believe that a glove box goes for $250
Old 10-11-2006, 03:28 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery