LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2009, 08:03 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: n/a... yet!
Not Ranked     
Default New to the Cobra World

Hey all,

I am doing some research on the different Cobra Kits and options. I've decided to build a Cobra, just have to figure out which kit... so far i've just been doing research online for LoneStar Classics, Factory Five, and Shell Valley.

I plan on building it completely myself (with my wife's help), she wants to learn and build with me. I've never worked on a kit car before, but I've done lots of work modifying Jeeps for offroad. So i consider myself average mechanical knowledge.

I was running in Folsom a few weeks ago, and saw about 8-9 Cobras somewhere and got all excited. I didn't ask any owners any questions (because i don't really "know" anything about cobras, and didn't want to ask wrong questions).

I was hoping to see if the cobra club allows "non cobra owners" (yet) to come see and look at the different cobras in the group. I'd like to see some differences in the kits and ask real people too (not just information online).

I'm sure cobra club members all have their opinions, and probably all differ.. but that's what i'd like to know so I can form my own opinion on what kit to purchase. Pros/Cons of the kits, people experience with building them, etc.

My goal is to do enough research that I can purchase a kit to start building by next year.

Any links, meetings, or get togethers that I could get info at would be greatly appreciated. We're (wife and I) are super excited about building our 1st cobra, and just want to make sure we do enough research to start on the right foot.

I hope this was okay to post in here, as I'm not a Cobra Owner yet... just working on becoming one.

Our "Cobra Plan":
1. Sunday Car (not daily driver)
2. Fun Car for going out, a head turner
3. Big Engine & Sound (looking at crate 427 Options)
4. Built by me and wife
5. Painted by pro-paint shop