Club Cobra GasN Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Engine Building, Tuning, and Induction > Small Block Talk

MMG Superformance
Nevada Classics
Keith Craft Racing
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
Keith Craft Racing
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
MMG Superformance
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
March 2024
S M T W T F S
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Kirkham Motorsports

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Tommy
  • 1 Post By RedHawk

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2016, 10:00 PM
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default 351w temp running very high

i am a newbie and have been learning as i go. I have a classic roadster with a 351w. the engine always seems to run hot and water temp gauge is always running up in the 225 range. I am starting to troubleshoot and will change the thermostat first. does anyone have any suggestions on the brand of thermostat to use and/or the degree (160/180/195etc...) that I should run? Thank you
Old 09-24-2016, 10:33 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Scratch built CSX style frame, Carbon fiber body, 393 Stroker, T-bird IRS, T5
Not Ranked     

Are you running the proper rotation water pump? Did you get all of the air out of your cooling system when you filled it?
Old 09-25-2016, 04:02 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Sold my EM.
Not Ranked     

And have you checked the accuracy of the temp gauge with an infrared temperature reader? On some cars the gauge will read high if the ground connection between the temp sensor and the engine block is not good (e.g., too much or wrong thread sealant on sensor).
Dwight likes this.
"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor
Old 09-25-2016, 04:10 AM
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     

Thank you Tommy and Three Peaks. I will also check these.