Club Cobra GasN Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Engine Building, Tuning, and Induction > Small Block Talk

Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 05:12 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: A&C
Not Ranked     
Default Broken rocker stud. wrong length pushrods?

I am a total novice. This is my first engne build. The engine ran well for about 200 miles. But something gone a miss.

Its a 1984 windsor 351 stoked out a bit to 383 with a street/strip cam .520 lift with hydraulic lifters. The block and heads have been decked. The heads are procoms aluminium with pushrod guild plates.

I think I screw up the pushrod length. When installing the pushrods I checked them by turned the motor over to check the wear pattern . It looked good. Right in the center. The pushrods are COMP Cams High Energy Pushrods, High Energy, Steel, 5/ 16 in. Diameter, 8.234 in. Length

Today the number 7 cylinder rocker stud broke. Looking at the pushrod it was rubbing up against the head near the stud. ARE the pushrods too long? Should I have bought harden pushrods?

After looking back I see the stock length is Windsor engine; 8.182"

You can see the wear pattern on the one valve stem.
Old 03-27-2009, 05:34 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: 427 S.O. Dual Quad / Cobra undecided
Not Ranked     

It takes a lot of force to snap off the stud as shown in your photo.
I guess it possible the stud itself is at fault but I have doubts about that.
Something is obviously binding or an out of sequence opposing force had to come into play for that stud to snap.