Club Cobra GasN Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Engine Building, Tuning, and Induction > Small Block Talk

Nevada Classics
Keith Craft Racing
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2009, 06:19 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Balance issue… help!

First and most importantly your talking to a novice here.

Bought a 347 stroker motor from and unnamed big time crate motor company far, far away from where I live.

I sent them the pulleys and brackets that I had previously purchased from another manufacture.

They sent me a video with it being dynoed, with my pulleys and brackets on there and it is unmistakably my motor. In the dyno video it runs smooth as glass.

It’s a 28oz externally balanced motor.

I get the motor but unfortunately due to circumstances in my life was unable to get it installed in a timely fashion.

By the time I get the motor in and running more then a year has passed by and the warranty is now expired.

The motor fires up and sounds great, one problem though it has a pretty bad vibration.

So once I get the mufflers on it and start driving it I can’t seem to figure out this bad vibration.

I take it to a few guys I know and they all come to the same conclusion that it’s a balance issue.

Right now it is at a shop of a fairly supposed well respected motor guy.

He tells me it’s the balancer in the pictures and video and that the flex plate is indeed a 28oz.

Yet, the motor still runs rough.

He tells me there is about 6-9 different combinations he is going to try to get the motor to balance without taking the transmission apart and taking off the flex plate (as I understand it).