Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Wbulk

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2016, 07:26 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Factory Five MK3, 351W
Not Ranked     
Default Body Work Instruction For Beginners?

I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for tutorials or videos for absolute beginners doing body work.

I have a MK3 Factory Five Roadster that is still very rough. I would like to do all the work myself, to make the car truly start to finish, even if the final product is not as good as a professional job.

Does anyone have any suggestions on basics for doing body work of this kind?

Thanks!
Old 06-20-2016, 07:55 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: 66 Cobra
Not Ranked     

Get Kevin Tetz videos, Body Shop Basics and Paint Your Own Car. Eastwood Co. has them. FFr forum has a lot of information.
moore_rb likes this.

"Everything is alive. If you get angry at a vehicle or the trans, it won't fix until you apologize and say you are sorry." "The vehicle always knows what it is doing and what the cause of it's bad feeling is. If you ask it humbly what the problem is, it will tell you. Then you and it will both be happy."

Gil Younger
Old 06-20-2016, 11:20 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     

One thing you need to be aware of is that the FFR body is made from vinylester resin and glass. Any body repairs or mods will need to be made with vinylester based products or you will negatively impact overall repair strength and durability. For a heavy fiber reinforced filler (working gaps, fender edges, etc.) use 3M HSRF, available at marine supply houses. For fiberglass repairs (filling a miscut hole, cracks, etc.) use glass and vinylester resin, available at several composite supply houses.
For normal bodywork, the industry standard polyester based products work fine. Opinions on which is best vary widely.
Old 06-20-2016, 01:33 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery