Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2003, 07:40 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     
Question Torque PULL hard to the right

Hey,
This is my first time on this site and was wondering if anyone has any insite for me. I just purchased the most amazing factory five. The car was put together well including a supercharged bored out 347. The problem is the car pulls like a mule to the right on hard accel. Is this common and are there any fixes. gearing etc..?
Thanks in advance
Ken
Attached Images

Old 04-03-2003, 07:57 PM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA 427 SO
Not Ranked     

kstadt, nice syclone...I had a 92 typhoon, loved it, I think I'm gonna have to get another!
On your torque steer, check the rear end alignment, and the attachment points...not sure what type rear end the FFR cars have, but I had the same problem on a Shell Valley with a live 9" Ford rear end...turned out the rear end was not lined up with the centerline of the car...hit the pedal and the car pulled left, mash harder, the car would get sideways. Had another car with bad bushings on the rear end, pulled one way on acceleration, the other way on trailing throttle...
What else should he look at, guys?
Old 04-03-2003, 10:02 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Compomotive. 351w, close ratio four speed, live axle, 4wdb.
Not Ranked     

My cobra has a terrible pull to the left on the back end (assend swings to the left) under hard acceleration. I have learned how to steer out of it, but it is real squirrley.
I have not been able to track down the problem. The car was used as a vintage racer and it has a gadzillion adjustment points front and rear. I would guess this was for preload for different tracks.
I will take it down for a full alignment after reading the post about adjusting to the centrline of the frame. I will post afterwards to let you know how it turned out.
Old 04-03-2003, 10:50 PM